Shamrock Rovers 1 St Patrick’s Athletic 1 (Rovers won 5-4 on pens)
Jack Byrne and veteran goalkeeper Alan Mannus were the shootout heroes as Shamrock Rovers lifted the President’s Cup to get the domestic football season underway.
Eoin Doyle announced his return to the League of Ireland in typical fashion with a poacher’s goal to put St Patrick’s deservedly ahead early in the second half.
But Ronan Finn punished an unfortunate mistake by Saints new goalkeeper Joseph Anang to equalise.
With no further scoring in a tight contest, spot picks were required on chilly, windy night in front of Uachtarán na hÉireann among the crowd of 5,426 at Tallaght Stadium.