The Carabao Cup final went all the way to penalties after ending goalless – and it was Liverpool who prevailed with an 11-10 shootout win to lift the trophy.It is the first time Liverpool have won the Carabao Cup under Jurgen Klopp, plus their first piece of silverware since the Premier League title of 2020. They took the long route to get there, but can celebrate again after a shootout success.
Goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher scored the decisive penalty to set up an 11-10 win before counterpart Kepa Arrizabalaga missed for the opponents.
Both teams went into the Carabao Cup final with decisions to make about their starting goalkeepers. Each had favoured their …